Refreshing a VDB will re-provision it from another source. As with the normal provisioning process, you can choose to refresh the VDB from a snapshot or a specific point in time.

Refresh a VDB in DCT

  1. Log in to the DCT instance.

  2. Navigate to Data > Data Management > VDBs and select a VDB from the list and click View.

  3. On the VDB page, select Refresh.

  4. On the Select Refresh Source page, select any of the following options:

    • Parent: Set the data state to the any snapshot point from the parent.

    • Self: Set the data state to any snapshot point of the VDB.

    • Relative: Set the data state to any available snapshot from any relative VDB.

    • Bookmark: Set the data state to any compatible bookmark.

  5. On the Refresh Point page, choose a snapshot point from the following options:

    • Select Provision Point: Select a provision point displayed on this page.

    • Select Exact Time (Slower): Choose the exact date and time using the calendar.

    • LSN Number Refresh (Slower): Enter the SQL Server Log scan (LSN) number range.

  6. Review the refresh summary and click Submit.

Undo a VDB refresh in DCT

If a virtual database (VDB) is refreshed accidentally, you can use the Undo Refresh action to return the VDB to its state before the most recent refresh.

To undo a VDB refresh:

  1. Log in to the DCT instance.
  2. Navigate to Data > Data Management > VDBs.
  3. Select a VDB from the list and click View.
  4. On the VDB page, select Actions > Undo Refresh.
  5. Click Undo Refresh to confirm.

Disable/Enable a VDB in DCT

Disabling a VDB is commonly used as a prerequisite for tasks like VDB migration or upgrade, and it removes the VDB’s traces (including configuration files) from the target environment while keeping the VDB metadata on the Delphix Engine.

To disable or enable a VDB in DCT:

  1. Log in to DCT.

  2. Navigate to Data > Data Management > VDBs and select a VDB from the list and click View.

    1. To disable the VDB, on the VDB page, select Actions > Disable.

    2. To enable the VDB, on the VDB page, select Actions > Enable.

Migrate a VDB in DCT

You can migrate a virtual database (VDB) to a different target environment. For example, you might migrate a VDB when upgrading the host where the VDB resides or as part of a data center migration.

Prerequisites

  • Set up a new target environment that is compatible with the VDB that you want to migrate.
  • Disable the VDB before migration.

To migrate a VDB:

  1. Log in to the DCT instance.
  2. Navigate to Data > Data Management > VDBs.
  3. Select a VDB from the list and click View.
  4. On the VDB page, select Actions > Migrate.
  5. Select the new target environment for the VDB and the database installation where the VDB will reside.
  6. Click Migrate.
  7. From the Actions menu, select Enable.
  8. Click Enable to confirm.

After the VDB is enabled, it starts in the new target environment.

Upgrade a VDB in DCT

You can upgrade an existing virtual database (VDB) to use a higher SQL Server database installation version.

Prerequisites

  • Disable the VDB before upgrade.

To upgrade a VDB:

  1. Log in to the DCT instance.
  2. Navigate to Data > Data Management > VDBs.
  3. Select a VDB from the list and click View.
  4. On the VDB page, select Actions > Upgrade.
  5. Select the new database installation where the VDB will reside.
  6. Click Save.
  7. From the Actions menu, select Enable.
  8. Click Enable to confirm.

Stop/Start a VDB in DCT

Stop a VDB when you need the database to be offline to perform an action on it. Stopping a VDB using Delphix also includes unmounting the filesystems provided by the Delphix Engine

To stop or start a VDB in DCT:

  1. Log in to DCT.

  2. Navigate to Data > Data Management > VDBs and select a VDB from the list and click View.

    1. To stop the VDB, on the VDB page, click Actions > Stop.

    2. To start the VDB, on the VDB page, click Actions > Start.

Delete a VDB in DCT

You can delete a VDB when it is no longer needed.

To Delete the VDB in DCT:

  1. Log in to DCT.

  2. Navigate to Data > Data Management > VDBs. Select a VDB from the list and click View.

  3. On the VDB page, click Actions > Delete.

Create a snapshot

Create a VDB snapshot when you want to capture a specific point in time in the life of the VDB so you can refer to it later.

1. Log in to DCT.

2. Navigate to Data > Data Management > VDBs and select a VDB from the list and click View.

3. On the VDB page, select Actions > Create Snapshot

 

 

Last updated
Oct 9, 2026